Uncategorized · Writing competition

Escalator – Writers’ Centre Norwich

What is Writers’ Centre Norwich. 

They are a national centre for writers in the UK.  If you live in East Anglia, you may have heard of them.

They promote world literature and help writers develop their skills with courses that are delivered at their premises and online (via UEA).  They have resources to enable writers to network, collaborate and develop to enhance and enable the skills of regional writers.

What is Escalator

Each year, WCN select ten writers to be supported by their Talent Development Programme.  The winners receive a mentor who supports them over the course of the year, they get to attend a writers retreat and showcase their work.  There is the chance to meet suitable agents, publishers and attend courses.

There is a chance to get published and being on the programme is a huge achievement in its own right.

Applications

Fee:  £5. You do have to pay a small fee to enter.  This is not a free completion.

Reference number:  Once paid, you receive a reference number.  You use this number on the application form instead of your name.  This enables applications to be anonymous during judging but easy to identify and notify the winner.

Application form:  You will need to write…

  • Biography:  In 200 words, you need to detail your achievements.  This can be any previous publications, competition wins or creative writing courses you have completed.  Make sure you haven’t included your name in you bio (it is anonymous).
  • Proposal:  In 200 words, you need to tell the judges what your project is, what winning would mean to you and why they should choose you.
  • Exert:  A 2,000 words extract from the project.

Important dates:

  • 24 March 2017 – The deadline this year for entering
  • 1 May 2017 – All winners will know they got in by this date.

The Link:  http://www.writerscentrenorwich.org.uk/main-events/escalator/

Did I enter?

Of course I did!  The previous 90 winners have been so fortunate and I want to be one of them.

What they want is pretty straight forward but it is really tricky to cover everything you want in a few words.  I edited my extract slightly so it didn’t cut out in a brash manner.

I don’t know if I am good enough to win but that’s the whole point.  It has been my dream my whole life and in the last ten years I have worked really hard to improve on my own. I’d love a mentor to help me figure out what to do next.

What if I don’t win?

If I don’t win, it won’t stop me writing.  As a writer, I have developed thick skin.  I will continue to put myself out there and keep trying.  If I give up, it is over and I refuse to stop dreaming until I’ve made it.  I encourage everyone with a dream to do the same.

You can’t regret trying.  But the torture of ‘what if’ when you let an opportunity pass you by can last a lifetime.

If you are thinking of entering, I wish you good luck.  🙂

One thought on “Escalator – Writers’ Centre Norwich

Leave a Reply

